What are the Lunar months in Arabic?

What are the Lunar months in Arabic?

It is based on a year of 12 months: Muḥarram, Ṣafar, Rabīʿ al-Awwal, Rabīʿ al-Thānī, Jumādā al-Awwal, Jumādā al-Thānī, Rajab, Shaʿbān, Ramaḍān (the month of fasting), Shawwāl, Dhū al-Qaʿdah, and Dhū al-Ḥijjah. Each month begins approximately at the time of the new moon.

Is the Arabic calendar lunar?

The Hijri calendar (Arabic: ٱلتَّقْوِيم ٱلْهِجْرِيّ at-taqwīm al-hijrīy), also known as the Lunar Hijri calendar and (in English) as the Islamic, Muslim or Arabic calendar, is a lunar calendar consisting of 12 lunar months in a year of 354 or 355 days.

What is the lunar calendar in Islam?

The Islamic calendar is a lunar calendar whose time reckoning is tied to the Moon phases. Each month lasts for a full lunation, which is the time span from one New Moon to the next. This Moon cycle encompasses all the phases of the Moon.

What are the 12 months in Arabic?

Aramaic calendar months used in the Levant

No. Month In Arabic
9 September Aylūl
10 October Tišrīn al-Awwal
11 November Tišrīn al-Thānī
12 December Kānūn al-Awwal

How does a lunar calendar work?

A lunar calendar is typically based on the moon’s 29.53-day synodic orbit around the earth. The year is then divided into 12 lunar months, which inconveniently only adds up to 354 days per year, roughly 11 days short of the actual time it takes the earth to complete one full orbit around the sun: 365 days.

Which month is Ayar?


April ‫نيسان‬ nysan
May ‫أيار‬ ayar
June ‫حزيران‬ hziran
These are six months. ‫هذه ستة أشهر.‬ hdhih stt ‘ashhur.
January, February, March, ‫كانون الثاني، شباط، آذار‬ kanun alththani, shabat, adhar